foil lady

autumn1bautumn4autumn2

autumn3autumn5foil lady

EN: Like a child, my eyes are instantly captivated by all shiny and radiant surfaces. The fabric of this skirt has immediately attracted my attention and sparkled memories from my childhood. It has reminded me of a chocolate wrap paper –  the gold foil – and figures I used to make of it. Whenever I got a chocolate I was happy for it as much as for another piece of gold or silver foil for some figure of a lady with full skirt, a swan or a boat. I have learned how to make them from one of my most favorite books of my childhood – The Foil Figures (bellow), which had always led me to the mysterious, fairy-tail world of the creation, and now it brings me back to my magical childhood. Not just the color and shine but the crispy structure of this fabric resembles the gold foil. I wanted design of this skirt to look like as it is really made for one of my foil ladies, so i went for a rough gathering at the waist to achieve the wide folds that will shine differently depending of the angle of the light, creating the glamorous light effects. Invisible zipper and an elastic in the back are there for more comfort while wearing the skirt. I made this black lace top to pair it with skirt because I liked how skin that is revealing under the lace is becoming the same gold color of the skirt. Isn’t that an example of childhood dream coming true – making a skirt for foil ladies has turned into making real skirts?

download

SR: Kao dete me opčinjavaju sve svetleće i presijavajuće površine. Materijal ove suknje mi je odmah privukao pažnju jer su u trenutku zasijale uspomene iz detinjstva. Podsetio me je na foliju u koju se uvija čokolada, od koje sam kao mala pravila različite figure. Svakoj čokoladi sam se radovala podjednako zbog nje koliko i zbog njenog zlatnog ili srebrnog omota od koga bih napravila još jednu damu sa velikom, širokom suknjom, labuda ili čamac. To sam naučila iz jedne od mojih omiljenih knjiga iz detinjstva – Figure od staniola, koja bi me uvek uznosila u misteriozni, bajkoviti svet stvaranja, a danas me vraća u magični svet detinjstva. Ne samo zbog svog sjaja i boje, već i po svojoj strukturi ovaj materijal liči na tu foliju. Zato sam želela da dizajn suknje što više liči na one koje sam pravila za moje staniol dame. Odlučila da suknja bude grubo skupljena na struku da bih dobila ove široke prevoje, koji se različito presijavaju zavisno od ugla pod kojim svetlo pada na njih, stvarajući čarobne efekte. Skriveni rajsferšlus i lastiš na ledjima su tu da suknja bude što udobnija. Sašila sam ovaj crni čipkani top uz suknju, jer mi se dopalo kako koža koja se nazire ispod čipke poprima zlatnu boju suknje. Zar nije to ostvarenje nesvesnog detinjeg sna? Pravljenje suknji za dame od folije se pretvorilo u pravljenje pravih suknji!

Leave a Reply

